My Second Blog Officially Launches!

Hello, everyone.  It’s me, Max West.  I’m a freelance artist operating in New York and I like to draw.  I draw comics, but this blog is about other artwork I do such as landscapes, life drawings, still lifes, and of course, pretty women.  I am the creator of an independent comics series called Sunnyville Stories, but that has its own separate blog.  This one is for my miscellaneous artwork.  So allow me to introduce myself. Self Portrait March 2009

The above graphite drawing is a self-portrait of myself done back in March of 2009.  I was born in Queens, New York on January 4th, 1980.  I’ve loved drawing from an early age, but never seriously pursued it until 2002.  It was then I started drawing on a regular basis.  It was difficult.  I was not a childhood prodigy like Frank Frazetta or Pablo Picasso.  I did not come from an artistic family either, unlike the Wyeths or Alexander Calder.  I learned on my own chiefly from the book by Dr. Betty Edwards known as The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain.  I also take night classes at the School of Visual Arts, where I learned watercolor painting, making comics, and life drawing.

On this blog, I intend to share my artwork with you, talk about my tools and techniques, and meet other artists.

Welcome to this second blog, everyone.  We’re going to have lots of fun here.  You can subscribe via RSS or email if you wish and please don’t be afraid to comment on my work.

2 Responses to “My Second Blog Officially Launches!”

  1. stomatolog Says:

    Jon K just gave you a new thread idea, or I guess it gave me the idea.


Leave a Reply

