Abstract Landscapes

Hello, friends.  Today, I have some more landscapes here but they’re more abstract than my usual stylized and Expressionist type landscapes.  One of my favorite bookstores in New York City (and in fact, the world) has got to be Strand Books.  Located at the corner of 12th Street and Broadway in Manhattan, this store boasts 18 miles worth of books!  They carry new, used, and even rare, hard-to-find, and one of a kind titles!  I’m a frequent visitor there as they have a great selection of art books.  It was there that I bought an art book about the American artist Jackson Pollock (1912-1956).  He is considered the quintessential artist of the Abstract Expressionist movement and is famous for his drip paintings.  I found Pollock’s work really inspiring so I decided to take a stab at some interesting landscapes.

Underbrush

This was drawn with pen-and-ink on paper.  This scribbled landscape was pure abstraction and can be clearly seen as being of Pollock’s influence.  Basically, I drew upon my subconscious and let my mind guide my pen.  I used quite  a few different pens for this rendering of underbrush you might see out in the wild.

I used a Pigma Micron .45 pen, a Uni-Ball, a Pigma Micron Brush pen, a Pilot V-Razor Point, and even a Sharpie marker for good measure.  I feel impressed with my effort.  Honestly, this is quite different from my usual stylized and Expressionist landscapes.  This next piece was a bit different though still Pollock inspired.

Landscape with Bird

This was done again with pen-and-ink on paper.  This was sketched with a few pens – a Pilot V-Razor Point, a Uniball, a Micron .45, and even a humble ballpoint pen (never overlook the ballpoint pen for drawing).

This was inspired by a piece Pollock did called “Landscape with Steer”, a combination lithograph and airbrushing he did in the 1930s.  While Pollock inspired this piece, it’s a bit closer to my usual Expressionist pieces.  Pollock’s most famous work (middle and later career) was meant to be non-representational in contrast to French Impressionist Claude Monet (1840-1926).  There’s a bird there which is quite blurry, but everything else seems to be representational no matter how stylized (or to some unintelligent eyes, crude).  There’s stippling there in combination with grass and mountains in the distance.

Probably sometime after I finish the planned monograph of my pin-up squirrel CG, I’ll probably put out another monograph of landscapes.  Well, I hope you enjoyed this post.  Subscribe to the RSS feed or via email if you haven’t already.  If you have any comments or questions, feel free to share them here.  Until next time, friends, bye-bye!

Leave a Reply

