Ant Queen

Some of you may recall that I got a red Moleskine sketchbook recently.  I’ve been filling it up with drawings in pen and pencil.  This is one of the sketches I’ve done in it and I considered it bizarre.

Ant Queen

"Ant Queen", pencil drawing in sketchbook

 

This is a literal play on the term for the mother of all ants in an ant colony.  Check out the Wikipedia entry for more info.

This was my second attempt at drawing this queen ant.  I found it tricky to make a female insect look pretty enough.  It’s easier for me to make an anthropomorphic cat, rabbit, fox, skunk, squirrel, and so on, look pretty.

I’ll share more drawings with you from the sketchbook (but not all of them) as time goes on.

Leave a Reply

