A Trip Down South

This entry is more of a personal one.  I’ve had the urge to actually do some traveling and in the process, do some outdoor art in my travels.

In the coming weeks, I’m planning to head down to the Southern USA with some art supplies to do on-site sketching and painting.  I haven’t decided on where I will go.  I’m leaning towards Richmond, Virginia – the capital of Old Dominion.  However, I’m also debating going back to Huntsville, Alabama, back to the state of Texas, or visiting for the first time the state of Tennessee.

Why am I doing this?  I feel that doing some traveling and capturing what I see in the form of watercolor sketches, pen drawing, and pencil drawings can really help me grow as an artist.  It will help my skills, I’ll learn some more practical application of color, and I’ll get reference to use in my artwork as well as my comics.

The main inspiration for my trip was one taken by my favorite artist Paul Klee (1879-1940) along with August Macke (1887-1914) and Louis Moilliet (1880-1962).  In 1914, these three artists went to the North African country of Tunisia.  The country was very influential on their artwork and they produced many studies there that helped shape their own styles.

There’ll be more information as details develop on my planned trip.  Plus you’ll see my sketches posted here to my blog.

Leave a Reply

